Board of Directors

Frank Poullas

Non-Executive Chairman - MAICD

Frank Poullas has spent the last 16 years working in the investment banking and engineering sectors. In his personal capacity is a professional investor specialising in the resources sector. For over 15 years he has been involved in various ventures increasing shareholder value in the resources sector.

The Hon. Warwick Smith AO

Non-Executive Director

Warwick has extensive public policy and commercial acumen and a wealth of experience from national and international business relations in a variety of industries including property, financial services, natural resources, energy, transportation, heavy machinery and equipment, health, media, technology and entertainment.


During his Parliamentary career spanning 15 years, Mr. Smith held many portfolios as a Federal Government Minister including Minister of Sport, Territories and Local Government along with Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Olympic Games in Sydney and Minister of Family Services.  Various Shadow Minister roles included Communications, Privatisation, Aboriginal Affairs and Science and Energy and Leader of the House of Representatives.


Previously, Warwick was an Executive Director with the Macquarie Bank Group, Chairman New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory and former Senior Managing Director for the ANZ Banking Group Limited, Chairman of E*TRADE Limited, Chairman of the Australian Sports Commission and Australia’s first Telecommunications Ombudsman.  He has received a Centenary Medal and recently awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to Australia-China business and financial relations, to education and to the community.

Professor M. Stanley Whittingham

Non-Executive Director

Professor Whittingham has over four decades of experience in the Lithium-ion battery industry and is best known for being a key figure in the invention of the Lithium-ion battery technology which has earned him a Nobel Prize in Chemistry that was recently announced in October 2019.

During his illustrious career Professor Whittingham has headed large projects for the US Department of Energy, Exxon and Schlumberger.  He has 16 US patents and has been involved in writing over 240 pieces of scientific and engineering literature.

Currently, Professor Whittingham is a professor of Chemistry and Materials Science and Engineering at Binghamton University which is part of the State University of New York. Professor Whittingham is also Director of the Northeast Center for Chemical Energy Storage (NECCES), which is an effort being led by Binghamton University, and includes as partners Rutgers University, Stony Brook University, Cambridge University, MIT, University of Michigan, University of California at Santa Barbara and University of California at San Diego. He was elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering in 2018.

Leslie Hosking

Non-Executive Director

Les has a long and distinguished career which spans over four decades in Australian business with a strong focus in the energy and the global futures industries.  Currently, he is serving as an Independent Non-Executive Director of AGL Energy Limited (ASX: AGL) and is an Adjunct Professor of the University of Sydney John Grill Centre for Project Leadership.

Previously Les was the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of the Sydney Futures Exchange, Chairman of Adelaide Brighton Limited (ASX: ABC), Chief Executive Officer of Axiss Australia an Australian Government inward investment agency used to promote Australia as a global financial service and a Director at the Australian Government’s Industry Research and Development Board.

In the domestic energy industry, Les has served as the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director at National Electricity Market Management Company (NEMMCO), Director of the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO), The Carbon Market Institute Limited and Innovation Australia Pty Ltd.

Johann Jacobs

Non-Executive Director - B.Acc, MBL,

Johann Jacobs has more than 30 years experience in the resource sector where he has managed established companies and acquisitions, expansions or start-up mining operations in Australia, South Africa and Indonesia. His more recent roles have included Chairman of IMX Resources Limited, Managing Director of the ASX-listed coal producer CIM Resources Ltd. In addition, he holds various directorships in private resource focused companies active in Australia and Internationally.

Peter Tsegas

Non-Executive Director

Peter has over 15 years of experience in Tanzania (10 years as a resident). He has worked to engage both the private and government sectors on a number of projects. Peter was founder and Managing Director of Tancoal Energy Ltd. which he successfully took from an exploration company through to a JV with the Tanzanian government and then into production. A number of consulting roles to the Tanzanian government have been undertaken, including the Ministry of Industry and Trade and the Ministry of Energy and Minerals. He has also consulted to a number of mining companies including Rio Tinto.

Marc Vogts

Managing Director

Marc is a project executive with over four decades of experience in the mining industry and over 30 years’ experience as a Senior Executive in major mining projects in South Africa, Madagascar, Australia, Canada, Chile, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea and USA.

Marc has held Director roles for the likes of BHP Billiton and Rio Tinto during his career. In recent roles Marc was Project Director for the QMM Project in Madagascar for Rio Tinto, Vice President for Project Management for BHP Billiton and Vice President for all Uranium Projects including Olympic Dam for BHP Billiton.

Previously, Marc was Executive Director Energy and Resources at the John Grill Centre for Project Leadership at the University of Sydney, a world leading project leadership executive education for value creation and realisation in large-scale projects.

Doug Richardson

Company Secretary

Doug has over 24 years of experience in the financial services and resources sectors. His experience has included investment research, analytics and client advising for various organisations including GIO Asset Management, the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority and Suncorp Investment Management.